HomeEvents&Programs › Awards › Architectural Excellence Awards

Architectural Excellence Awards

2014 Awards Call for Entries & Nominations

AIA Pennsylvania is now accepting submissions for the 2014 Architectural Excellence Awards and nominations for the 2014 Special Awards.

The Architectural Excellence Awards recognize significant achievements by AIA Pennsylvania members to contribute to a better and more sustainable built environment. Submission categories are: Architecture, Interior Architecture, Historic Preservation, Regional and Urban Design and Special Initiatives. Click here for complete details.

The Special Awards recognize significant achievements by AIA Pennsylvania members, non-members, civic and government leaders, allied professions, and member firms who contribute to a better and more sustainable built environment and the advancement of the profession.Click here for complete details.

Please note, we will be using a new online submittal service for all awards this year. 
Click here to view the online submittal site.

Past Winners:



Project Eligibility

Awards can be given for a project in any geographic location if the project's Architect of Record is a member of AIA Pennsylvania and the project was completed within the last five years.

Award Types

Silver Medals may be granted, at the jury’s discretion to the project that distinguishes itself from the rest of the submissions and may be given in any category.

Honor Awards may be given at the jury’s discretion for projects that exemplify the highest design quality in any category.

Citation of Merit Awards may be given to reward a project that either lies outside of the other categories or bears an exceptional aspect or detail that the jury feels represents excellence which deserves specific honor.

Award Categories

Architecture: built projects including new buildings of all types including additions and alterations to existing buildings.

Interior Architecture: large or small in scope and may involve new construction, renovation, or preservation/restoration.

Historic Preservation: projects including historic restoration, historic rehabilitation and adaptive reuse.

Regional and Urban Design: urban design projects, planning programs, civic improvements, campus plans, regional plans, environmental programs, or redevelopment projects.

Special Initiatives: planning, research, conceptual, unbuilt projects, policy development and implementation and community initiatives. The project must have been completed within the last five years.

Associate: recognizes the contributions and creativity of AIA Pennsylvania Associate Members. Work submitted may include projects that the member has had significant participation in at the firm where the associate is affiliated or an individual effort at the conceptual level that is recognized for its inventiveness and/or originality. The project must have been completed within the last five years.